50 SA Artists Pay Tribute To Johnny Clegg With “The Crossing”

50 SA Artists Pay Tribute To Johnny Clegg With “The Crossing” . A total of fifty South African musicians teamed up to create more deeper meaning and emotion out of Jonnhy Clegg’s hit single The Crossing paying tribute to him.

The stars included in the song are :

Karen Zoid, Abigail Kubeka, Andre Venter, Andy Mac, Anna Davel, Ard Matthews, Arno Carstens, Bobby van Jaarsveld, Corlea, Craig Hinds, Craig Lucas, Dan Patlansky, Dave Matthews, David Kramer, Dorothy Masuka, Elvis Blue, Emo Adams, Francois van Coke, Franja du Plessis, Gloria Bosman, Jason Hartman, Jesse Clegg , Jimmy Nevis, Juanita du Plessis, Judith Sephuma, Kahn Morbee, Karlien van Jaarsveld, Kurt Darren, Laudo Liebenberg, Lira, Majozi, Mike Rutherford, Paige Mac, Patricia Lewis, Peter Gabriel, Ross Learmonth, Somizi, Stompie Ernesta Manana, Thandeka Campher, Thembeka Mnguni, Tresor Riziki, Vicky Sampson, Victor Masondo, Vusi Mahlasela, Yati Khumalo, Jack Parow, and Zolani Mahola. Somizi, Dorothy Masuka and Judith Sephuma.

All proceeds from the single will go to the Friends of Johnny Clegg Fund and will be used for primary school education to empower the youth through literacy programmes by using technology in education.

Speaking to TshisaLIVE, Lira said that she was honoured to be part of such a project.

“I am very honoured to pay tribute to a South African great. He is one of our biggest superstars and it was amazing to be part of something that honours him like this. The mood during recording was awesome. There was a respect and camaraderie among us. A real unity.”


Related Articles